Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions
curve gif

College of Health Related Professions / College of Nursing Academic Calendar 2017–2018

Notes

Students in clinical courses should check with their individual programs regarding specific clinical schedules and time off. All students in clinical courses will be expected to adhere to the holiday schedules of the clinical site to which they are assigned. Clinical students completing clerkship, fieldwork, practicum or other clinical assignments may have clinical obligations that extend throughout semester vacation periods but clinical training experiences are not permitted to take place between academic semesters.

Students should contact faculty before taking time off, including religious holidays. Arrangements must be made for making up academic work missed. Please refer to the Student Handbook regarding Religious Observances, New York State Education Law, Section 224-a.

8-week session

  • Undergraduate Nursing (RN to BS) and
  • Didactic Graduate Nursing Courses

12-week session

  • College of Health Related Professions,
  • Clinical Graduate Nursing Course

Two 6-week sessions

  • Accelerated BS Nursing — Session A and Session B

 

  Summer Semester 2017 (8 and 12 Week Sessions)
Mon. May 15 Tuition Payment Deadline if starting a Clinical Course
Tues. May 16 First Day for Nursing Clinical Courses (IP Grades ONLY)
Mon. May 22 Web Registration Re-opens for Summer
Tues. May 23 Commencement – No Classes
Thurs-Fri. May 25-26 In-Person Registration for Non-Matriculating Students Course sections may be closed having reached maximum enrollment)
Mon. May 29 Memorial Day – No Classes
Tues. May 30 Orientation & Registration for Entering OT, PT, PA, PH and Accelerated Nursing Students
Tues. May 30 First Day of Classes (Session A, 8 and 12 week sessions) Continuing PA, PT, & Nursing Students
Tues. May 30 Tuition Payment Deadline for Continuing Students
Tues. May 30-June 5 Add/Drop Period – All Sessions (No "W" grade posted)
Wed. May 31 First Day of Classes (Session A, 8 and 12 week sessions) New PA, PT, & Accel. Nursing Students
Fri. June 2 First Day of Classes New and Continuing OT Students
Fri. June 2 Tuition Payment Deadline for New Students Only
Fri. June 9 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of "W" (Session A and 8 week session)
Wed. June 21 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of "W" (12 week session)
Fri. June 23 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of "WP" or "WF" (Session A and 8 week session)
Tues. July 4 Independence Day Observed No Classes
Fri. July 7 Last Day of Classes and Final Exams (Accelerated BS Nursing Courses Session A)
Mon. July 10 First Day of Classes (Accelerated BS Nursing Courses Session B)
Fri. July 14 Last Day of Classes (8 week session)
Mon. July 17 Final Exams Begin (8 week session)
Thurs. July 20 Final Exams End (8 week session)
Fri. July 21 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a grade of "W" (Session B)
Fri. July 21 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a grade of "WP" or "WF" (12 week session)
Fri. July 21 Last Day to Apply for New York State Residency for the Fall Semester
Fri. July 28 Deadline to Submit Grades on Banner System (Session A and 8 week session)
Fri. Aug. 4 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a grade of "WP" or "WF" (Session B)
Fri. Aug. 11 Last Day of Classes (12 week session)
Mon. Aug. 14 Last Day for CHRP & Nursing Clinical Courses
Mon. Aug. 14 Final Exams Begin (12 week session)
Fri. Aug. 18 Last Day of Classes and Final Exams (Session B)
Fri. Aug. 18 Final Exams End (12 week session)
Fri. Aug. 25 Deadline to Submit Grades on Banner System (all sessions)
  Fall Semester 2017
Tues. Aug. 15 First Day for Nursing Clinical Courses (IP Grades ONLY)
Mon. Aug. 21 Web Registration Re-opens for Fall
Mon-Tues. Aug. 21- 22 In- Person Registration for Non-Matriculating Students
Mon. Aug. 28 Mandatory New Student Orientation & Registration
Mon. Aug. 28 First Day of Fall Classes Continuing Students
Fri. Sept. 1 Tuition Payment Deadline All Students
Aug. 28-Sept. 5 Add/Drop Period (No "W" grade posted)
Tues. Aug. 29 First Day of Fall Classes – New Students
Mon. Sept. 4 Labor Day - No Classes
Tues. Sept. 5 Last Day to Drop Courses Without Tuition Liability
Thurs-Fri. Sept. 21-22 Rosh Hashanah – No Classes
Sat. Sept. 30 Yom Kippur
Fri. Oct. 6 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of "W"
Mon. Oct. 9 Columbus Day - No Classes
Mon. Oct. 16 Spring Academic Advising & Web Registration begins
Fri. Oct. 27 Spring Academic Advising & Web Registration ends
Tues. Nov. 7 Election Day - Classes in Session
Sat. Nov. 11 Veterans' Day Observed – No Classes
Fri. Nov. 17 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a grade of "WP" or "WF"
Thurs-Fri. Nov. 23-24 Thanksgiving
Fri. Dec. 1 Last day to apply for New York State Residency for Spring Semester
Mon. Dec. 11 Final Exams Begin
Fri. Dec. 15 Last Day to Make-Up Incomplete Grades from Spring & Summer 2017
Fri. Dec. 15 Last Day of Final Exams & Classes
Fri. Dec. 15 Last Day for CHRP & Nursing Clinical Courses
Fri. Dec. 22 Deadline to Enter Grades on Banner System
  Spring Semester 2018
Tues. Jan. 2 Web Registration Re-opens for Spring
Tues. Jan 2 First Day for CHRP & Nursing Clinical Courses
Tues. Jan. 2 First Day for Nursing Clinical Courses (IP Grades ONLY)
Tues. Jan. 2 Tuition Payment Deadline if starting a Clinical Course
Tues-Thurs. Jan. 2-4 In-Person Registration for Non-Matriculating Students
Mon. Jan. 15 Martin Luther King Jr. Day – No Classes
Tues. Jan. 16 First Day of Spring Classes
Tues. Jan. 16 Tuition Payment Deadline – All Students
Jan. 16 - Jan. 22 Add/Drop Period (No "W" grade posted)
Mon. Jan. 22 Last Day to Drop Courses Without Tuition Liability
Fri. Jan. 26 Last Day to File for May Graduation
Mon. Feb. 19 Presidents' Day - No Classes
Fri. Feb. 23 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of "W "
Fri. Mar. 30 Good Friday - No Classes
Sat. Mar. 31 Passover Begins
Sun. Apr. 1 Easter
Mon. Apr. 2 Spring Recess Begins
Sat. Apr. 7 Passover Ends
Mon. Apr. 9 Classes Resume
Mon. Apr. 9 Summer and Fall Academic Advising & Web Registration begins
Fri. Apr. 13 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a grade of ''WP" or "WF"
Fri. Apr. 20 Summer and Fall Academic Advising & Web Registration ends
Mon. Apr. 23 Last Day to apply for New York State Residency for the Summer Semester
Mon. May 7 Final Exams Begin
Fri. May 11 Last Day to Make Up Incomplete Grades from Fall 2017
Fri. May 11 Last Day of Final Exams & Classes
Fri. May 11 Last Day for CHRP & Nursing Clinical Courses
Fri. May 18 Deadline to Submit Grades on Banner System
Tues. May 22 Commencement No Classes
Mon. May 28 Memorial Day No Classes