Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions
curve gif

School of Public Health Academic Calendar 2013–2014

NOTES:

  • SPH Final Exams are given during class hours.

  • SPH classes have classes requiring different contact hours ranging from 1 to 3 or more. Due to holidays which fall on Mondays, Monday classes may be extended or additional dates may be scheduled to ensure the required number of contact hours.

  • Students should contact faculty prior to taking time off, including religious holidays. Arrangements must be made for making up academic work missed.  Per New York State Education Law, Section 224-a: “Any student in an institution of higher education who is unable, because of religious beliefs, to attend classes on particular day or days shall, because of such absence on the particular day or days, be excused from any examinations or any or work assignments.” All missed work must be made up at the discretion of the faculty.

 

  Summer Semester 2013
Mon., May 20 Web Registration Re-opens for Summer & Fall
Mon-Tues, May 20-21 In-Person Registration for Non-Matriculating Students
Mon., May 27 Memorial Day – No Classes
Wed., May 29 Commencement – No Classes
Mon., June 3  Orientation & Registration Entering SPH Students
Tues., June 4 First Day of Classes – All SPH Students
Tues., June 4 Tuition Payment Deadline
June 3–7 Add/Drop Period (No “W” grade posted but See Student Handbook for Tuition Liability)
Fri., June 7 Last Day to Drop Courses Without Tuition Liability
Fri., June 14 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of “W”
Thurs., July 4 Independence Day Observed – No Classes
Fri., July 12 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a grade of “WP” or “WF”
Fri., July 26 Last Day of Classes and Exams
Wed., July 31 Deadline to Submit Grades to the Office of the Registrar
Fri., Aug. 2 Last Day to apply for New York State Residency for the Fall Semester
Mon., Aug. 26 Web Registration Re-opens for Fall
  Fall Semester 2013
Mon., Aug.  26 Web Registration Re-opens
Mon-Tues., Aug. 26- 27  In- Person Registration for Non-Matriculating Students
Wed., Aug. 28 Mandatory Orientation & Registration
Mon., Sept. 2 Labor Day - No Classes
Tues., Sept. 3 First Day of Fall Classes
Tues., Sept. 3 Tuition Payment Deadline
Sept. 3 - Sept. 13 Add/Drop Period (No “W” grade posted)
Thurs-Fri., Sept. 5-6 Rosh Hashanah – No Classes
Fri., Sept. 13 Last Day to Drop Courses Without Tuition Liability
Sat., Sept. 14 Yom Kippur
Fri., Oct. 4 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of “W”
Mon., Oct. 14 Columbus Day - No Classes
Mon., Oct. 21 Spring Academic Advising & Web Registration begins
Fri., Nov. 1 Spring Academic Advising & Web Registration ends
Fri., Nov. 1 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a grade of “WP” or “WF”
Tues., Nov. 5 Election Day - Classes in Session
Mon., Nov. 11 Veterans’ Day Observed – No Classes
Thurs-Fri., Nov. 28-29 Thanksgiving - No Classes
Mon., Dec. 2 Last day to apply for New York State Residency for Spring Semester 
Mon., Dec. 16 Final Exams Begin
Fri., Dec. 20 Last Day to Make-Up Incomplete Grades from Spring & Summer 2013
Fri., Dec. 20 Last Day of Final Exams & Classes
Fri., Dec. 27 Deadline to Enter Grades on Banner System
  Spring Semester 2014
Mon., Dec. 30 Web Registration Re-opens
Mon-Wed., Jan. 6-8 In-Person Registration for Non-Matriculating Students
Mon., Jan. 20 Martin Luther King Jr. Day – No Classes
Tues., Jan. 21 First Day of Spring Classes
Tues., Jan. 21 Tuition Payment Deadline
Jan. 21 - Jan. 27 Add/Drop Period (No “W” grade posted)
Mon., Jan. 27 Last Day to Drop Courses Without Tuition Liability
Fri., Jan. 31 Last Day to File for May Graduation
Mon., Feb. 17 Presidents’ Day - No Classes
Mon., Feb. 24 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of “W “
Mon., Mar. 31 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a grade of ‘’WP” or “WF”
Mon., Mar. 31 Summer and Fall Academic Advising & Web Registration begins
Fri., Apr. 11 Summer and Fall Academic Advising & Web Registration ends
Mon., Apr. 14 Spring Recess Begins
Tues., Apr. 15 Passover Begins
Fri., Apr. 18 Good Friday - No Classes
Sun., Apr. 20 Easter
Mon., Apr. 21 Classes Resume
Tues., Apr. 22 Passover Ends
Mon., Apr. 28 Last Day to apply for New York State Residency for the Summer Semester
Tues., May 13 Final Exams Begin
Mon., May. 19 Last Day to Make Up Incomplete Grades from Fall 2013
Mon., May. 19 Last Day of Final Exams & Classes
Fri., May 23 Deadline to Submit Grades on Banner System
Mon., May 26 Memorial Day – No Classes
Wed., May 28 Commencement – No Classes