Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions
curve gif

School of Public Health Academic Calendar 2014–2015

NOTES:

  • SPH Final Exams are given during class hours.

  • SPH classes have classes requiring different contact hours ranging from 1 to 3 or more. Due to holidays which fall on Mondays, Monday classes may be extended or additional dates may be scheduled to ensure the required number of contact hours.

  • Students should contact faculty prior to taking time off, including religious holidays. Arrangements must be made for making up academic work missed. Per New York State Education Law, Section 224-a: "Any student in an institution of higher education who is unable, because of religious beliefs, to attend classes on particular day or days shall, because of such absence on the particular day or days, be excused from any examinations or any or work assignments." All missed work must be made up at the discretion of the faculty.

 

  Summer Semester 2014
Mon. May 19 Web Registration Re-opens for Summer & Fall
Mon-Tues. May 19-20 In-Person Registration for Non-Matriculating Students
Mon. May 26 Memorial Day – No Classes
Wed. May 28 Commencement – No Classes
Mon. June 2 Orientation & Registration Entering SPH Students
Mon. June 9 Tuition Payment Deadline
Mon. June 16 First Day of Classes – All SPH Students
June 16-20 Add/Drop Period (No "W" grade posted but See Student Handbook for Tuition Liability)
Fri. June 20 Last Day to Drop Courses Without Tuition Liability
Fri. June 27 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of "W"
Fri. July 4 Independence Day Observed – No Classes
Fri. July 11 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a grade of "WP" or "WF"
Fri. Aug. 1 Last Day of Classes and Exams
Fri. Aug. 1 Last Day to apply for New York State Residency for the Fall Semester
Wed. Aug. 6 Deadline to Submit Grades to the Office of the Registrar
Mon. Aug. 25 Web Registration Re-opens for Fall
  Fall Semester 2014
Mon. Aug. 25 Web Registration Re-opens
Mon-Tues. Aug. 25- 26 In- Person Registration for Non-Matriculating Students
Wed. Aug. 27 Mandatory Orientation & Registration
Mon. Sept. 1 Labor Day - No Classes
Tues. Sept. 2 First Day of Fall Classes
Tues. Sept. 2 Tuition Payment Deadline
Sept. 2 - Sept. 8 Add/Drop Period (No "W" grade posted)
Mon. Sept. 8 Last Day to Drop Courses Without Tuition Liability
Thurs-Fri., Sept. 25-26 Rosh Hashanah – No Classes
Fri. Oct. 3 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of "W"
Sat. Oct. 4 Yom Kippur
Mon. Oct. 13 Columbus Day - No Classes
Mon. Oct. 20 Spring Academic Advising & Web Registration begins
Fri. Oct 31 Spring Academic Advising & Web Registration ends
Fri. Oct 31 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a grade of "WP" or "WF"
Tues. Nov. 4 Election Day - Classes in Session
Tues. Nov. 11 Veterans' Day Observed – No Classes
Thurs-Fri. Nov. 27-28 Thanksgiving - No Classes
Mon. Dec. 1 Last day to apply for New York State Residency for Spring Semester
Mon. Dec. 15 Final Exams Begin
Fri. Dec. 19 Last Day to Make-Up Incomplete Grades from Spring & Summer 2013
Fri. Dec. 19 Last Day of Final Exams & Classes
Fri. Dec. 26 Deadline to Enter Grades on Banner System
  Spring Semester 2015
Mon. Dec. 29 Web Registration Re-opens
Mon-Wed. Jan. 5-7 In-Person Registration for Non-Matriculating Students
Mon. Jan. 19 Martin Luther King Jr. Day – No Classes
Tues. Jan. 20 First Day of Spring Classes
Tues. Jan. 20 Tuition Payment Deadline
Jan. 20 - Jan. 26 Add/Drop Period (No "W" grade posted)
Mon. Jan. 26 Last Day to Drop Courses Without Tuition Liability
Fri. Jan. 30 Last Day to File for May Graduation
Mon. Feb. 16 Presidents' Day - No Classes
Mon. Feb. 23 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of "W "
Mon. Mar. 16 Summer and Fall Academic Advising & Web Registration begins
Fri. Mar. 27 Summer and Fall Academic Advising & Web Registration ends
Mon. Mar. 30 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a grade of ''WP" or "WF"
Fri. Apr. 3 Good Friday - No Classes
Tues. Apr. 4 Passover Begins
Sun. Apr. 5 Easter
Mon. Apr. 6 Spring Recess Begins
Mon. Apr. 13 Classes Resume
Tues. Apr. 11 Passover Ends
Mon. Apr. 27 Last Day to apply for New York State Residency for the Summer Semester
Mon. May 11 Final Exams Begin
Mon. May 18 Last Day to Make Up Incomplete Grades from Fall 2014
Mon. May 18 Last Day of Final Exams & Classes
Fri. May 22 Deadline to Submit Grades on Banner System
Mon. May 25 Memorial Day – No Classes
Wed. May 27 Commencement – No Classes