Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions
curve gif

School of Public Health Academic Calendar 2016–2017

NOTES:

  • SPH Final Exams are given during class hours.

  • SPH classes have classes requiring different contact hours ranging from 1 to 3 or more. Due to holidays which fall on Mondays, Monday classes may be extended or additional dates may be scheduled to ensure the required number of contact hours.

  • Students should contact faculty prior to taking time off, including religious holidays. Arrangements must be made for making up academic work missed. Per New York State Education Law, Section 224-a: "Any student in an institution of higher education who is unable, because of religious beliefs, to attend classes on particular day or days shall, because of such absence on the particular day or days, be excused from any examinations or any or work assignments." All missed work must be made up at the discretion of the faculty.

 

  Summer Semester 2016
Mon. May 23 Web Registration Re-opens for Summer & Fall
Tues. May 24 Commencement – No Classes
Mon-Tues. May 25-26 In-Person Registration for Non-Matriculating Students
Mon. May 30 Memorial Day – No Classes
Mon. June 6 Orientation & Registration Entering SPH Students
Mon. June 6 Tuition Payment Deadline
Mon. June 20 First Day of Classes – All SPH Students
June 20–24 Add/Drop Period (No "W" grade posted but See Student Handbook for Tuition Liability)
Mon. June 24 Last Day to Drop Courses Without Tuition Liability
Wed. July 1 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of "W"
Mon. July 4 Independence Day Observed – No Classes
Fri. July 15 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a grade of "WP" or "WF"
Thurs. July 28 Last Day of Classes and Exams
Fri. July 29 Deadline to Submit Grades to the Office of the Registrar
Fri. Aug. 5 Last Day to apply for New York State Residency for the Fall Semester
Mon. Aug. 22 Web Registration Re-opens for Fall
  Fall Semester 2016
Mon. Aug.  22 Web Registration Re-opens for Fall
Mon-Tues. Aug. 22- 23  In- Person Registration for Non-Matriculating Students
Mon. Aug. 29 Mandatory New Student Orientation & Registration
Mon. Aug. 29 Tuition Payment Deadline - All Students
Mon. Aug. 29-Tues. Sept. 6 Add/Drop Period (No "W" grade posted)
Tues. Aug. 30 First Day of Fall Classes - All Students
Mon. Sept. 5 Labor Day - No Classes
Tues. Sept. 6 Last day to Drop Courses Without Tuition Liability
Mon. Oct. 3 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of "W"
Mon-Tues. Oct. 3-4 Rosh Hashanah – No Classes
Mon. Oct. 10 Columbus Day - No Classes
Wed. Oct. 12 Yom Kippur - No Classes
Mon. Oct. 17 Spring Academic Advising & Web Registration begins
Fri. Oct. 28 Spring Academic Advising & Web Registration ends
Mon. Nov. 7 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a grade of "WP" or "WF"
Tues. Nov. 8 Election Day - Classes in Session
Fri. Nov. 11 Veterans' Day Observed – No Classes
Thurs-Fri. Nov. 24-25 Thanksgiving - No Classes
Fri. Dec. 2 Last day to apply for New York State Residency for Spring Semester 
Mon. Dec. 12 Final Exams Begin
Fri. Dec. 16 Last Day to Make-Up Incomplete Grades from Spring & Summer 2016
Fri. Dec. 16 Last Day of Final Exams & Classes
Fri. Dec. 23 Deadline to Enter Grades on Banner System
  Spring Semester 2017
Tues. Jan. 3 Web Registration Re-opens                                                                              
Tues-Wed. Jan. 3-4    In-Person Registration for Non-Matriculating Students                           
Mon. Jan. 16 Martin Luther King Jr. Day – No Classes                                                      
Tues. Jan. 17 First Day of Spring Classes                                                                             
Tues. Jan. 17 Tuition Payment Deadline                                                                             
Jan. 17 - Jan. 23 Add/Drop Period  (No "W" grade posted)                                                                                 
Mon. Jan. 23 Last Day to Drop Courses Without Tuition Liability
Fri. Jan. 27 Last Day to File for May Graduation                                                                   
Fri. Feb. 17 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of "W "                               
Mon. Feb. 20 Presidents' Day - No Classes
Mon. Mar. 27 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a grade of ''WP" or "WF"                 
Mon. Mar. 20 Summer and Fall Academic Advising & Web Registration begins             
Fri. Mar. 31 Summer and Fall Academic Advising & Web Registration ends                  
Mon. Apr. 10 Spring Recess Begins                                                                                     
Tues. Apr. 11        Passover Begins                                                                                                  
Fri. Apr. 14 Good Friday - No Classes
Sun. Apr. 16 Easter
Mon. Apr. 17      Classes Resume                                                                                               
Tues. Apr. 18        Passover Ends                                                                                        
Mon. Apr. 24 Last Day to apply for New York State Residency for the Summer Semester      
Mon. May 8 Final Exams Begin                                                                                               
Mon. May 15 Last Day to Make Up Incomplete Grades from Fall 2016                                 
Mon. May 15 Last Day of Final Exams & Classes                                                                     
Fri. May 19 Deadline to Submit Grades on Banner System                                                  
Tues. May 23 Commencement – No Classes                                                                            
Mon. May 29 Memorial Day – No Classes