Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions
curve gif



During Women’s History month, we celebrated the legacy of the late Dr. Dale Blackstock, a former faculty member in the Department of Medicine, by honoring women who passionately serve the Downstate community. The keynote address on Women in Leadership was con- ducted by Dr. Pamela Straker. The award recipients were:

Dr. Dale Blackstock Award for Excellence in Teaching and Service:3women

Teresa Smith, MD, MSEd

Clinical Assistant Professor & Residency Program Director 

Department of Emergency Medicine


Diversity Champions Award

Daisy Cruz-Richman, PhD, RN Dean

College of Nursing


Ann Marie Cullen Administrator

Office of Faculty Affairs & Professional Development


Lotus Jones Assistant Director

Office of Academic Development


Betty Jung

RN Patient Educator award


Margaret Kaplan, PhD, OTR/L Associate Professor

College of Health Related Professions


Outstanding Service Award

Margaret Johnson

Cleaner, Facilities Management & Development