Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions
curve gif

School of Public Health Academic Calendar 2021–2022

Notes

  • SPH Final Exams are given during class hours.
  • SPH classes have classes requiring different contact hours ranging from 1 to 3 or more. Due to holidays which fall on Mondays, Monday classes may be extended or additional dates may be scheduled to ensure the required number of contact hours.
  • Students should contact faculty prior to taking time off, including religious holidays. Arrangements must be made for making up academic work missed. Per New York State Education Law, Section 224-a: "Any student in an institution of higher education who is unable, because of religious beliefs, to attend classes on particular day or days shall, because of such absence on the particular day or days, be excused from any examinations or any or work assignments." All missed work must be made up at the discretion of the faculty.

Summer Semester 2021

TBA Web Registration Opens for Summer
Wed. June 9 Orientation & Registration Entering SPH Students
Thurs.-Fri. June 10-11 In-Person Registration for Non-Matriculating Students
Mon. June 14 First Day of Classes – All SPH Students
Mon. June 14 Tuition Payment Deadline for Continuing Students
Mon. June 14–21 Add/Drop Period (No “W” grade posted but See Student Handbook for Tuition Liability)
Mon. June 21 Last Day to Drop Courses Without Tuition Liability
Monday. July 5 Independence Day Observed – No Classes
Tues. July 7 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of “W”
Wed. July 21 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a grade of “WP” or “WF”
Fri. Aug. 2 Last Day to apply for New York State Residency for the Fall Semester
Fri. Aug. 6 Last Day of Classes and Exams
Fri. Aug. 13 Deadline to Submit Grades to the Office of the Registrar

Fall Semester 2021

Thurs.-Fri. Aug. 19-20 In- Person Registration for Non-Matriculating Students
Mon. Aug. 30 Mandatory New Student Orientation & Registration
Mon. Aug. 30 First Day of Fall Classes – All Students
Tues. Aug. 30 Tuition Payment Deadline – All Students
Mon. Aug. 30-Sept. 9 Add/Drop Period (No “W” grade posted)
Mon. Sept. 6 Labor Day - No Classes
Tues-Wed. Sept. 7-8 Rosh Hashanah – No Classes
Thurs. Sept. 9 Last Day to Drop Courses Without Tuition Liability
Thurs. Sept. 16 Yom Kippur – No Classes
Fri. Oct. 1 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of “W”
Mon. Oct. 11 Columbus Day - No Classes
TBA Spring Academic Advising & Web Registration begins
Tues. Nov. 2 Election Day - Classes in Session
Fri. Nov. 5 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a grade of “WP” or “WF”
Thurs. Nov. 11 Veterans’ Day Observed – No Classes
Thurs-Fri. Nov. 25-26 Thanksgiving - No Classes
Fri. Dec. 3 Last day to Apply for New York State Residency for Spring Semester
Fri. Dec. 10 Last Day of Classes
Mon.-Fri Dec. 13-17 Final Exams Begin
Thurs. Dec. 23 Deadline to Enter Grades on Banner System

Spring Semester 2022

Thurs.-Fri. Jan. 6-7 In-Person Registration for Non-Matriculating Students
Mon. Jan. 17 Martin Luther King Jr. Day – No Classes
Tues. Jan. 18 First Day of Spring Classes
Tues. Jan. 18 Tuition Payment Deadline – All Students
Jan. 18-Jan. 24 Add/Drop Period (No “W” grade posted)
Mon. Jan. 24 Last Day to Drop Courses Without Tuition Liability
Fri. Jan. 28 Last Day to File for May Graduation
Tues. Feb. 22 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grade of “W “
Mon. Feb. 21 Presidents’ Day - No Classes
Tues. Mar. 29 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a grade of ‘’WP” or “WF”
TBA Summer and Fall Academic Advising & Web Registration begins
Mon. Mar. 17 Spring Recess Begins
Mon. Mar. 21 Classes Resume
Fri. Apr. 15 Good Friday - No Classes
;Sat. Apr. 16 Passover Begins
Sun. Apr. 17 Easter
Sat. Apr. 23 Passover Ends
Fri. Apr. 29 Last Day to Apply for New York State Residency for the Summer Semester
Fri. May 6 Last Day of Classes
Mon. May 9-13 Final Exams
Mon. May 9 Last Day to Make Up Incomplete Grades from Fall 2019
Fri. May 20 Deadline to Submit Grades on Banner System
 TBA Commencement – No Classes
Mon. May 30 Memorial Day – No Classes